How to make a Mosaic Garden Sphere with Laurel True

This episode showed a little while ago and it is supposed to be airing again August 1st on the DIY network at 12pm EST, in the US.

Laurel True shows step-by-step how to take a rubber ball and turn it into a fantastic mosaic sphere! This is a picture of the finished product from the DIY Network’s website. You can print all the steps to do it yourself!

Step-by-step Mosaic Sphere Project by Laurel True

Even though I started out with mosaic just breaking up tile, it never really got me all that excited until I saw Laurel’s work. She uses colour! It’s not often that you see really colourful tiles because most people use… well frankly ugly tiles for home decor!!! Alot of the colourful tiles here in Canberra are usually the soft, low-fire tile, which you can’t use here as we get frosts. Laurel True uses tile from McIntyre Tile Company. They are a high-fire tile and come in beautiful colours…

Anyway, I love this project. There are too many DIY projects that are just so dull and plain ugly and it makes me wonder why bother!? But not this one. This takes an el cheapo kids’ rubber ball and turns it into a piece of art.

24 Comments

Filed under Art, Artists, Business, Events, Female, Garden Mosaics, Inspiration, Institute of Mosaic Art, Laurel True, Mosaic, Round the World, Sculpture, Sphere, Technique, TV, Uncategorized, USA

24 responses to “How to make a Mosaic Garden Sphere with Laurel True

  1. Sage Jordan

    Is the photo a Bolling ball?

  2. Pingback: 15 Outdoor Mosaic Projects that Will Change Your Yard ~ Bees and Roses

  3. Sue

    Where are the instructions to make this garden sphere?

  4. Pingback: 10 Beautiful Garden Mosaic Projects | Site For Everything

  5. Elenir de Matos

    Que devo usar sobre a madeira para fixar.

  6. Pingback: 10 Lovely DIY Garden Mosaic Projects - Garden Lovers Club

  7. Pingback: How to make a Mosaic Garden Sphere with Laurel True | citsme

  8. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one!

    It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Wonderful choice of colors!

    • jim

      Strange but did you know that at any given time their are over 178 million blogs active and the chances of 2 being similar are better than 90% and thats just in the US.

  9. Pingback: 10 Garden Mosaic Projects | The Garden Glove

  10. These are in fact enormous ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  11. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of information on your
    site. Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  12. Pingback: 2010 in review « Kim Grant Mosaics – Mania & Mischief

  13. dianne garber

    I would love to make the mosaic garden sphere using a rubber ball but cannot find the instructions anywhere. Your site instructed finding it on DIY but I can find it. IT’S BEAUTIFUL. Thank you for your help.

  14. If any of you like to use glass tile for your mosaics, we carry a wide range of styles and colors of glass and small ceramic tile. We have a gallery page we invite you to visit for inspiration or to submit your mosaics! We would love to see and post images of any of your finished mosaics too.

  15. raghavendra

    hi guys ur works are awsome im architect im thinking to move to this job can some body suggest hw to start

  16. zosaique

    waow ! love too !!

  17. that’s really cool. waaaa.

  18. waaaaa. love that mosaic. ♥

  19. Hi Cece,
    Your tiles sound lovely! I don’t really sell tiles online – atleast not yet, maybe some day when I decide to get more serious… In any case if you want to send me some pictures with a little blurb about yourself and your tiles, I’ll consider writing a post about them. I will email you personally.
    Best,
    Kim

    • i would love to send you some pics of my new work. My work was featured in the Longive Museum of Fine Arts this past July. Its been a while since we last visited, you probably dont remember me. regards, cece

  20. cece bode

    Hello, my name is CeCe Bode. I make mosaic tiles using raw clay. I fire my tiles in a kiln at 2100 degrees, making them fade proof as well as weather proof and scratch proof. The vibrant colors and textuters makes each piece a work of art in itself. I wholesale my tiles and would love to send samples and photos of my work in hopes that you may be interested in selling them on your website.
    Thank you,
    CeCe Bode
    cecebode@netscape.com
    903 758 6737

Leave a comment