Daily Archives: July 3, 2007

My studio

Yay! After many months of mosaicing in the living room, then trying to make do in a space in another room for about a year, we’ve finally managed to get organised and do the IKEA run to Sydney (twice!) – no IKEA in Canberra. I repeat, no IKEA in Canberra!!! The first time we went up, we had the kids with us. Kids and shopping generally don’t mix… so we dumped the children with my Mum and Dad one day and did another dash to Sydney. Good thing too, because the car was chockas! We have a station wagon and managed to jam it full of shelves and other odds and sods. Very fun.

So hubby had a week off in between jobs and his big thing was putting up the shelves. Well, a 2 day job turned into this huge affair! Our house doesn’t seem to have straight walls. Anywhere. So of course what was meant to be an easy job, wasn’t. Seems to be the story of our lives in renovating our home. I just wonder if we’ll ever finish. We always joke that when we get everything finished, we’ll sell up 😉

Anyway, the shelves are up, I’m happy and Matt did a great job. That kind of thing just goes over my head – I just want them up. Matt did try to explain to me how difficult it was to get this there and that over here and I think I just stared blankly!!! I’m generally pretty handy and love power tools as much as the next bloke, but I could seriously care less about the process… Good thing I married someone who’s not only handy, but does a great job 🙂 Lol…

Starting to put stuff up on the shelves

My Space!!!

I absolutely love my table and it has come in very useful already, drawing different designs for the commission I am working on. It really makes such a difference working in a dedicated space… My mosaic has been put on hold for this reason and also because of exams (yay for me again because I got distinctions all around – makes all that stress worthwhile and I feel like I can keep going with it; I’m mental!), so hopefully now I can get back into mosaicing. I’ve missed it!

7 Comments

Filed under Architectural Installations, Australia, Building, Business, Canberra, Lifestyle, Mosaic, My projects, Studio, Uncategorized