Daily Archives: July 23, 2007

My new stained glass shelf

Well, I think I am all set now – there’s no more excuses 😉 Himself and the boys made me a fantastic shelf for my ever growing stained glass collection. I am a self-proclaimed obsessant (is there such a word?!) when I walk into a stained glass shop. I really only know of one here in Canberra, and there is a lovely range but it is not quite the same as the one in Pyrmont, Sydney. The Australian Stained Glass Shop is a converted church – the only time you’ll find me in one! 😉 – and I’m like a kid in a lolly shop in there. There are rows of shelves just packed with glass. It’s awesome! I always go in thinking “I’ll be good and I’ll only spend this much”. But it never works out that way… The people are friendly and fairly tolerant of my kids being there too, though I fully understand why it would make someone nervous! Ultimately I prefer going there alone anyway… That way I’m on my time and I’m not worrying over the kids misbehaving and potentially causing a disaster! Not that I think they would, but again it’s always in the back of my mind… That and a bit of eyeballing from the workers lol…. Anyway, I highly recommend the visit, even if just for the experience. It’s a bit of a walk from Darling Harbour, but always a nice one. Otherwise you can buy off their website, but be warned: it’s not the same!!!

Here are the boys, forever concentrating! 🙂

Liam building the glass shelf    Building the shelf for my stained glass

And here’s my shelf 🙂 I love it!

Stained Glass Shelf

1 Comment

Filed under Artists, Australia, Business, Canberra, Flickr, Glass, Kim Grant, Lifestyle, My projects, Rant, Round the World, Shelf, Studio, Sydney, Uncategorized