Marian Shapiro’s Fabrication

In my last post I mentioned I was heading to Sydney for Marian Shapiro‘s solo exhibition “Fabrication”. As the song goes “oh what a night!…” It was a really great opening night – lots of people turned up, Marian glowed and her body of work was truly something to behold.

MAANZ president, Nola Diamantopoulos, gave the opening speech and what I loved about something she said in this speech was along the lines of how Marian is such a giver, but a quiet one… So true!

I think you need to go and see this exhibition, showing at breathing colours in Balmain, Sydney. The show ends this Sunday with a meet-the-artist on Saturday between 2-4 pm. Now is the time to buy art (may I also say at a great price!!).

Marian’s beautiful catalogue, with a lovely intro by artist Jane Denison, is also available at blurb.

Details and pics from the opening night below:

7 Comments

Filed under Art, Artists, Australia, Events, Exhibitions, Marian Shapiro, Mosaic, Round the World, Sydney, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Marian Shapiro’s Fabrication

  1. Wow those are some nice looking mosaics – wish I could have attended :/

  2. Hi Kim! I have nominated your blog for the Kreativ Blogger award. See my latest blog post for more info. http://mosaicartbyla.blogspot.com/2010/04/blogging-award.html

  3. Caz Kovacs

    Great write up Kim. Lovely to see some familiar faces too. Congratulations to Marian. Simply sensational!

  4. Jane Denison

    Hey Kim, lovely write-up and photos of the opening. It’s great that you met up with Joanna again and I can see my friend, Chris, in the background!

  5. Wish I could see these in person!

  6. sorry – didn’t realise you’d linked it. Please feel free to delete!

  7. Thanks for mentioning it Kim – we did have a great time. If I may, the catalogue is available at
    http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/1198761

    and contains pics of all the pieces, most of them full page.

Leave a Reply

