Immortalising Childrens’ Art

My 5 year old was playing with sidewalk chalk last weekend on a (very large) stepping stone at the bottom of the stairs of our deck. She drew one of her loveflies, which I adore. I’ve been planning a mosaic rug on this particular substrate and after seeing her gorgeous lovefly, decided to mosaic it instead. It was supposed to be something we did together, however her response to this was “Oh, it’s OK Mum you can do it” 😉

Can I say I love immortalising childrens’ art? What better way to do so than with mosaic!? 😀

Lovefly

Lovefly

12 Comments

Filed under Architectural Installations, Art, Artists, Finished pieces, Flickr, Floor, Garden Mosaics, Kids, Kids' Projects, Mosaic, My projects, Nature, Pavement, Stepping Stones, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Immortalising Childrens’ Art

  1. This is really great. I’m with Virginia, this actually makes me wish I had kids. Your daughter is lucky to have such a talented Mom, how cool to be creating heirlooms that will be cherished for years to come. Some day this will hang in her 5 year old’s room, or above her mantle. I am not usually so sentimental about art or family, but this is just wonderful. Well done.

  2. iritlevy

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful.
    Now I need to buy a house and rewind the time 10-15 backwards to do the same…

  3. Caz Kovacs

    Fantastic art from both of you. A wonderful large stepping stone too.
    I’ve been meaning to make a mosaic of one of Nathan’s comic characters he’s made; one day!

  4. Janelle

    This reminds me of my daughters flutterbys. She is nine now and we have recently been discussing doing one of her flutterbys on a stepping stone at the front of our place. This is just the inspiration I needed. It’s wonderful. Thanks Kim.

  5. I absolutely love it! And I really must do some of Isaac’s art in mosaic one of these days. Goodness knows I have enough to choose from… Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. A perfect collaboration!!!!

  7. What a great idea, Kim! I’ve kept a lot of my kids’ drawings and have used a few as part of my own artwork. (Is that plagiarism?) The colors and creativity of kids always charms me.

    • Kim

      Well… maybe grey area, lol! I always ask their permissions still. Got the green light with this one, though I was told at one point “I’m not very happy with you Mum…”, all because I made the hearts light pink instead of the colours she chose. I met her halfway (actually 5yo was right) and changed the colour on the outside heart to what she’d originally wanted me to do 😉

  8. Katie Waller

    I love that you did this!
    Can’t wait until Christmas when we have Gchildren in town. It may be a 2 year old scribble… but that’s okay! 🙂
    It’s really beautiful, Kim.

  9. I love it – both the piece and the fact that you’re the mosaic “fabricator” of your daughter’s art.

  10. I love this. I can honestly say it’s the only time I wish I had children, lol – I love kid art & would love to have an excuse to make kid’s art into beautiful mosaics!

Leave a Reply

