Facebooking and Mosaic Making

Do you facebook? Somewhere I really spend (aka waste) waaaaay too much of my time, but I do like to know what is going on with all my friends OS, so it’s a great tool for exactly that. If you do – check out my page and become a fan!

Kim Grant Mosaics

Kim Grant Mosaics

Am also  in the midst of trying to finish a mural I started a little while back. OK, in all fairness it was a long while back. This is a collaborative effort with my little sister, Natalie Grant, who is also an artist in her own right. Her next artistic venture is on the path to becoming a tattoo artist. When she visited early 2008 I had her outline one of her mermaid and octopus sketches she’s been drawing for many years at full scale in my Dad’s garden. I set about mosaicing it and it has taken me this long to even approach the finish line – which is frankly a long way off.  Still  to finish is 3 octopus legs (almost done) a fish and its bubbles, grouting, sanding and painting before finally sealing…

Arms, tail, octopus, bubbles

It was a lovely Sunday – cool Winter’s day with the sun shining down and warming my every being while I sat and worked non-stop.  Well not quite sat. One also has to be an acrobat when wanting to be a mosaic artist. My Dad perched in his chair looking on, cooking lunch and falling in and out of sleep. Was a good day.

I hadn’t so much as picked up a single tool or tess since returning from my trip OS. Always a little disconcerting but I’ve learned to just go wtih it. It is what it is and I can’t force ‘it’.  I find myself in these moments of exhaustion. Then all of sudden out of the blue it all comes back in a gazillion different images in my mind, at a million miles per hour along with the title of each piece  and then I am fighting for time to get it all out of my head and onto a substrate. I went and bought myself a real sketchbook today for fear of it all disappearing…

3 Comments

Filed under Architectural Installations, Art, Artists, Garden Mosaics, Kim Grant, Mosaic, Murals, My projects, Rant, Uncategorized, Works in Progress

3 responses to “Facebooking and Mosaic Making

  1. I had to come over and look at this work a second and third time. Such rich, deep colors and interesting compositions. I love Rebecca’s work. Beautiful.

    Thank you for your excellent and inspirational blog, Kimbo!

    S.

  2. Rita Schelin

    I love this mural so far; especially the mermaids face. Down time is always a good thing!

  3. So great to see you doing your mosaic magic again! What a wonderful project to do with your sister for your dad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

