Artist Watch: Judit Bozsár

I’m trying to make a disconcerted effort to include artists from all over the world here and have noticed many of the artists featured so far are from the US. Not that there’s anything wrong with that… as Seinfeld might say 🙂 but in keeping with the effort of making this as international as I can, I introduce you to Dr Judit Bozsár who was born in Hodmezovasarhely, Hungary and now resides in Pilisvorosvar, just outside Budapest, Hungary. She is known as stiglice on Flickr, one of my preferred stomping grounds.

Now I know there is a very lively mosaic community in Hungary because I have had alot of hits from atleast one mosaic forum, and alas have not been able to understand a single word that is said. 😦 I still marvel at the fact that we English speaking countries have very often only the one language, whereas every single non-English speaking country that I have travelled to, bar one, had some English.

After being a slave her whole life to her watch, Judit retired as a research scientist of veterinary medicine back in May. Nowadays she enjoys “going to bed, getting up, eating, strolling in the garden, playing with mosaics, with my grandchildren, with my animals, etc. whenever I feel like doing so.” 🙂 I’ve always said I can’t wait to retire! lol…

Judit has been making mosaics now for 3 years and it has pretty much taken over her home as she states: “No room is singled out yet to be furnished as a workshop, so I am forced to litter the house with my treasure of half-made pieces, china and glass shards: cellar, garage, my former study, the guest room (the only one with an appropriately positioned window), wherever I can…”.

When I asked her if she had any advice on making mosaics, her response was first and foremost having a spouse who does not mind but does care. 😉 Acquire some very good tools, browse the internet, see as many mosaics as you can, find all the websites and blogs of as many artists as you can. Learn from everyone kind enough to share his/her knowledge – “and be as grateful to them as I am”. Have patience, do not feel you are wasting your time with more important tasks waiting … Do not let your failures disappoint you rather learn from them. Study the properties and descriptions of the used materials carefully, enabling your work to stand the test of time in both senses. Be courageous in your experiments, “except when you are working on a commission.” Food for thought and then some…

In recent years, her life has undergone many positive changes that she now feels there are too few hours in the day to do everything she is interested in. “At long last I can live in a large garden with as much domestic and wildlife around me as I like. I am enthralled with all forms of LIFE from those lovely spiders’ nets through the teeming plant life to the titmice brooding in their birdhouses … Since I was given my first digital camera, photography has also been a standard hobby.”

Judit’s first grandchild was born a year and a half ago and was followed by two more: “…they are opening up a new world for me, one very different from what I and my two sons used to live in”. Her other passions are reading and gardening, though these two suffer most since discovering mosaics.

Judit is self-taught and has learnt, and is still learning, everything through the web. She is ultimately very grateful to all those who have supported her in her newfound passion – her husband who encourages rather than sneers; to her Hungarian mosaic friends who introduced her to this medium and whose constructive criticism is a huge help; to her virtual friends at flickr who leave supportive comments; and last but not least “to those colleagues, friends and relatives who remember me whenever they break a plate or cup or renew their bathrooms and thus keep supplying me with much of my precious basic materials…”. 🙂

Judit’s website is still being constructed and you can also see her work on her flickr account.

Now for the nity gritty! You’ll see why I love her mosaics. She is one of the most versatile mosaic artists that I’ve come across…

Finally meet Judit…

11 Comments

Filed under Architectural Installations, Art, Artist Watch Series, Artists, Building, Cafe, Emerging, Female, Flickr, Judit Bozsar, Mandala, Mosaic, Murals, Public Art, Signage, Uncategorized, Wall Hanging

11 responses to “Artist Watch: Judit Bozsár

  1. Caz Kovacs

    This was a lovely read. Well done to Kim. Nice to put a face to your name Judit and to learn more about you. I admire your work and your latest Black Princess is a masterpiece.

  2. stiglice

    Thank you Stacy, Gabi:-), Christine!
    I am afraid, what you call versatility is due to my experimental vein only:-) As I am new in mosaic art I have to try new methods, materials, objects, adhesives, colors, etc.:-) That’s why my mosaics are small (with a few exceptions).

  3. Nice article, Kim, as always! You know I love your work, Judit!!

  4. Pocok

    I am proud, too!!! She is MY sister! (I am only a supplier of basic materials…) :)))

  5. Versatility is right! WOW! This art almost knocked my socks off. Beautiful and compelling at once!

    Congratulations, Judit…and great job, Kim. Thank you for lighting up my morning with this incredible work.

  6. stiglice

    My dear, Kim, I thank you so much for this post! You made me proud:-) It is the first time I appear in the “media” :-)))
    Thank yo all for your nice compliments! Debra, I am a novice too, concerning mosaics at least…. my age is another issue:-)

  7. Great to see the face behind ‘stiglice’. I’ve admired your work on flickr Judit and absolutely love it. You’re so talented and a real inspiration to a novice like myself. I look forward to seeing more of your beautiful creations.
    debs (DSDesigns)

  8. Janet (stjohnsgypsy)

    I enjoyed reading your story Judit…I love your mosaics…beautiful!

  9. Wonderful write-up! I LOVE your work, Judit, and it’s great to learn more about you.

  10. Fabulous piece Kim!!!

    Judit! I’m SOOOO thrilled to have read more about you! I too am an admirer!

  11. Susan Walden

    Oh how nice to find out more about you Judit!
    I love your work!

Leave a Reply

