Making Mosaics and Lasting Friendships

Well as most of you probably are aware I have become quite friendly with Susan Crocenzi having made a website for her and in return I lovingly welcomed Crossroads into my life. When I was in the USandA I went and visited her in her neck of the woods. How could I not?! The drive up was lovely and I was cursing myself for not hiring the GPS for the extra $14.99 per day cos I kept getting lost?! Mapquest had me all over the place, lol! Finally made it though and she was busy teaching Donna, aka CaDonna, who came to know of Susan through another online forum… They’d been making a polymer clay and tempered glass piece which they’d just finished as I turned up 🙂

Now I will admit to being a tad worried that we might not get along, that it would all be a stereotypical weird online friendship thing and it SOOOO was not. I felt like we’d known each other for a long time. Phew, cos she opened her home to me and was so very hospitable and I stayed for the whole weekend, even got to meet her family. I’m sure you felt the same, a little… huh, Susan?! 🙂

We had planned on trying to go for a hike, there was even mention of going kayaking on the Yuba, which sounded wonderful! There just wasn’t going to be any time though (I was only there for 2.5 days) and I do plan to take her up on the offer another time. Some of the pics I’ve seen of her beautiful surrounds was just mind blowing. Northern CA is just simply beautiful!!! From her studio you could hear the wind in the trees, the river running, birds singing and the air was fresh! It was really just lovely. I could totally see why she lived there. My ideal spot to live is in the mountains overlooking the ocean… Still searching for it. 🙂 In CA, Santa Cruz came very close for me. The Santa Cruz mountains are just… I don’t have words to describe it frankly…

When I asked Susan if there was anything she wanted from Australia, she said the only thing she wanted was a mosaic I’d made. Well, not having all that much left I did have Flutterby which now resides with her 🙂 and I’m so glad it does. I in turn got Big Love… Just what I needed! I own 5 Crocenzi originals now 😉 One would think I’m a fan of her work or something!

Susan was also gracious enough to let me sit in on her 1st class. I think it’s the beginning of a new career for her… Having been a teacher for the last 15 or so years, she’s a natural at it and her classes are fun. Guaranteed you’ll come away from one, or two (?) classes with a piece you’ll love. I know it has made me look at the potential of my mosaics in a different light, which came at a very necessary time as I was feeling rather blah about everything for a while. The combination of the mural intensive, Susan’s tempered glass class and me having just gone on a *major* de-cluttering of my house has got me all enthused again. Nothing like getting rid of crap. It literally clutters your soul and it is so therapeutic to chuck.

Anyway, it was a really fun get-together. Donna is way cool too and her piece she made was gorgeous. Thanks Susan! Thank whatever and whoever for the internet is all I have to say for giving me such great friends, who I can now count as “real life” friends, not just e-friends… 😉
Susan, Donna and me
Susan, Donna & I surrounded by those big gorgeous trees

Me and Donna
Me and Donna

Cabin in the mountains


Aspire, my tempered glass piece I made in Susan’s class 🙂

Big Love
Susan’s trade for Flutterby. I love this piece! It just sparkles and now adorns my love wall…


Donna’s tempered glass and polymer clay piece, Wild Hearts.

April was the month of hearts for me. Everywhere I turned there was one… I had to purchase Laurel True‘s graffiti tag when I saw it:
Laurel True's graffiti tag
It’s about all I could afford, lol!

5 Comments

Filed under Art, Artists, California, Female, Flickr, Furnishings, Inspiration, Kim Grant, Laurel True, Mirrors, Mosaic, Mosaic Materials, My projects, Polymer Clay, Rant, Round the World, Susan Crocenzi, Technique, Tempered Glass, Trades, Travel, Uncategorized, USA, Wall Hanging

5 responses to “Making Mosaics and Lasting Friendships

  1. Sigh … reading this today, many months after your visit, fills me with happiness! Come back! Come back! I miss you! And, ahem, I’d like to publically say that that photo of me with the two of you is hideous and completely unrealistic! 🙂

  2. Kim

    Hey hhb… No it was a 2 part epoxy that had a slow cure, which of course you can’t buy in this country… atleast I’ve never seen anything like it. I personally wouldn’t use weldbond because it doesn’t dry clear really. You have to do some funky alcohol dab rara and who can be bothered frankly when there are other things on the market?! Have you heard of MAC glue? It’s a glue that a mosaic artist made some time ago specifically for GOG. Just bought some when I was in the US. Dries crystal clear. If you do a search you’ll find it. It’s a marine glue (so waterproof and weather proof) I believe and is available in Australia but is pretty pricey. I’d consider buying it online from the US, along with other stuff! 🙂

  3. Love your piece! Am desperate to try tempered glass myself. Have just to find a source for the stuff! What adhesive did you use? Wellbond?

  4. I’m still jealous…you guys have all the fun. 😉

  5. nice pictures………………………..

Leave a Reply

