Enigma, complete

Finally got around to grouting Enigma today after the massive Spring clean that I never got around to doing last Spring (it’s Autumn here, almost)… Nice to know that my clean/neat freak is still in there somewhere and wants to rear its ugly head every so often!!! Studio clean up comes next. I have shards of glass everywhere. It’s really a miracle I havn’t cut myself as of yet. I know I will while I’m cleaning it now that I’ve said that.

Anyway… in the end I decided on a black grout instead of my usual dark choice of charcoal. Charcoal just didn’t seem right. I think I can say I’m actually happy with it, after all the anxiety it was giving me 😉 I just hope, really, really hope the client will be pleased.

Am yet to paint the back and put all the hardware on it for hanging, as well as the edging. Plan on a stainless steel edge, we’ll see. For now, I’m relieved it’s basically done!

Enigma

10 Comments

Filed under Art, Artists, Female, Finished pieces, Kim Grant, Mandala, Mosaic, My projects, Uncategorized, Wall Hanging

10 responses to “Enigma, complete

  1. I used a deep terracotta grout. And yes the leaves are whole ( apart from those that required me to break them for the ‘fallen leaf’ effect). That K V quote is a daily reminder to ‘just do’!:)

    Thankyou K.

  2. Kim

    Wow I love that table!!! What colour grout did you use and are the leaves all one piece? I couldn’t enlarge the image…
    Also love this quote:
    “The primary benefit of practicing any art, whether well or badly, is that it enables one soul to grow.” – Kurt Vonnegut
    What a great quote to have in your space!!! Cetainly a nice reminder anyway 😉

  3. Hi there K. You can see a pic of the table top BEFORE i grouted it here……..http://secrethill.blogspot.com/2008/02/studio.html
    😉

  4. Lorraine

    Hi Kim,

    I’m a MAO mod. I don’t post much, but I’m “there”everyday. 🙂

  5. Kim

    Hi Anita,
    Thanks so much for commenting. Always great to get feedback from fellow artists. I checked out some of your mosaics and they’re really lovely!

    herhimbryn,
    do we get to see a pic of your table?!

    Lorraine,
    Welcome 🙂 It has been on my mind since you left your comment. Your name is so familiar yet I can’t put my finger on where I “know” you from. One of the mosaic groups perhaps?…

  6. Hi,

    This is absolutely beautiful. I saw it as a wip; it turned out lovely.
    I just started a google reader account this past week and I subscribed to your blog. I have enjoyed your work and all the posts of other mosaic artists and sites. Thanks for sharing.
    Anita

  7. Thankyou for the info K I am about to seal a completed table.

  8. Kim

    Thanks Lorraine and herhimbryn…
    As far as sealer goes, do you mean sealer for the mosaic itself or the prepping? For the mosaic itself, I use a tile and grout sealer – no specific one as of yet, though I did use Sureseal (http://www.suresealusa.com/Australia%20Products.htm) on the large table I made recently and was very happy with it. It comes in an aerosol can and I have to say I reckon that’s suicide 😉 I just get the stuff you can paint on.

  9. Yep! Tha black grout works. This is gorgeous K.

    I have a question, if you don’t mind? When sealing your mosaics do you use a specific sealer?

  10. Lorraine

    Wow. I didn’t seem that coming. 🙂 I saw your earlier post when it was a WIP. This is not at all how I envisioned it looking when completed. I think it’s gorgeous, Kim. Your color selection is great. You really should be happy with it.

Leave a Reply

