Sacred Compass

Well I got to finishing the table/wall hanging (?). I prefer it as a wall hanging I think. Went with a chocolate grout and I think it turned out pretty well. Sometimes it’s nice to just not be stressed about getting something “perfect” – what is that anyway!!!? So I feel like it’s a good mosaic-start to the year! I ended up going with a dark brown background, originally was going to do a light brown. I wasn’t sure once I finished it, but now that it’s been a few days I’m happy with the choice. Am not 100% with the name. Titles for my pieces used to come sooo easily. Now I seem to not be able to listen as intently. Anyway, I looked at this and saw “directions”, a compass… Somewhat metaphoric perhaps to where I am in Life right now.

Sacred Compass

Sacred Compass - detail

I’m finding it increasingly more difficult to photograph my mosaic… I know everyone says don’t use a flash and just use natural light. This one is in natural light, no flash. But on most of my other pieces I’ve always used a flash and actually think I get truer colours with the flash… Otherwise it tends to look very flat and blah… It’d be nice to have the bright studio lights all set up. I should really pester my sister who is a photographer to get her to take photos for me…

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Artists, Australia, Canberra, Emerging, Female, Finished pieces, Flickr, Glass, Kim Grant, Mosaic, Mosaic Materials, My projects, Ornamental, Porcelain tile, Rant, Round the World, Table, Uncategorized, Wall Hanging

Leave a Reply

