Père-Lachaise Cemetery – Elizabeth

When in Paris I stayed in the Bastille Area, which as it turned out was a stone’s throw away (and then some) to the Père-Lachaise Cemetery, where Jim Morrison amongst many others are now at rest.

My good friend came to meet me from London (we hadn’t seen each other in 10 years!) and decided to mosey on over on the morning of her departure. I was glad we did actually. The grounds are simply beautiful. I suppose had we been more organised, we could have visited others too, but we weren’t. We did eventually find the grave of Jim Morrison. I was expecting it to be much grander than it was. Just a normal little grave cramped in between many others. I guess space there must be at a premium… It wasn’t as badly graffitied as I expected either. Still, it must be weird being famous, knowing that thousands of people will come to “mourn” you and leave these things all over your grave. I personally think it’s rather sad as we tend to place how we think of these people upon them, almost forcibly whether they are true or not.

Anyway, I digress… Lots of mosaic in the cemetery. This one I thought was particularly interesting. I didn’t realise it at the time, but it’s on the headstone of a little girl called Elizabeth, who died at the age of 2 along with a boy called Jean Emile. Both with the same last name, so must be siblings… I was looking at the photo last night wondering to myself if this was the mosaic portrait of the woman who died, when I realised it is in fact on the headstone of children…

I really like this mosaic. There’s something about it that really speaks volumes to me. It is feminine, there’s a sense of freedom and peace and a protectiveness about her too. She’s surrounded by an abundance of healthy, flowering plants and fruit. Just a contentment in her… It’s really wonderful.

Elizabeth

Elizabeth

This was an interesting  dome that was mosaiced. I’m afraid my latin is lacking so I have no idea what this says… But I really liked the Art Nouveau feel to this.

Dome

Leave a comment

Filed under Architectural Installations, Art, Cemetery, Europe, Flickr, France, Mosaic, Paris, Portraiture, Public Art, Round the World, Travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

