Residential Complex in Seoul

When I went to visit my Grandmother I noticed almost immediately all this mosaic around the grounds. I particularly like this one, as it is obviously telling a story. I havn’t found out whether it is based on a Korean folktale or just something the artist mused up.

Unfortunately, I once again don’t know the name of the artist or anything actually about all these pieces. There is alot though. I couldn’t even begin to tell you how much. They do however stand at about 1.2 metres in height and are made entirely of ceramic. The only thing I think I would change is the choice of grout colour. I think it would have looked much better in a darker grey as opposed to a white, perhaps a charcoal!? In any case it’s pretty fantastic! Moreso, I think, because there is so much of it. Sometimes things en masse really do look better 😉

Loads more pictures on my flickr site in the Seoul Mosaics Set.

Residential Complex

Residential Complex

Residential Complex

Residential Complex

Residential Complex

Residential Complex

Leave a comment

Filed under Animals, Architectural Installations, Art, Flickr, Garden Mosaics, Mosaic, Murals, Public Art, Round the World, Seoul, South Korea, Travel, Uncategorized, Urban

Leave a Reply

