Gangnam Kyobo Tower

Outside the famed Gangnam Kyobo Tower is a public art installation of mosaic spires. In Seoul there is a law that states that every highrise building has to be accompanied by a sculpture. It’s a wonderful law. I think every city should adopt it! Public art abounds in Seoul and it really makes such a difference walking through it.

The building is home to, among other businesses, the Kyobo Bookstore.  It’s huge and so fun (I love bookshops. I could, and do, spend hours in them…). The building was designed by Mario Botta, an Italian architect who is world renowned. He also did the Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco among many others… It’s a nice building actually, I quite like it.

Anyway, what I found so wonderful is out the front the mandatory artwork is a mosaic installation made by Yoo Keun-Sang called “Corea Fantasia”. I think it’s fantastic! Would love to have something like this in my garden. It’s made from ceramic, stained glass and smalti and is not grouted. The pieces have been pushed into the cement-based adhesive. Really inspiring work! I love the gradation of colour from cool to neutral to hot.

Corea Fantasia

Corea Fantasia

6 Comments

Filed under Architectural Installations, Art, Building, Flickr, Inspiration, Mosaic, Public Art, Round the World, Sculpture, Seoul, South Korea, Travel

6 responses to “Gangnam Kyobo Tower

  1. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  2. Pingback: Gangnam Kyobo Book Store « Noodles of Korea

  3. Hi Gio,
    Yes in fact you are right. My Uncle alerted this fact to me too 🙂
    It’s a pretty awesome place to just hang out. I tried really hard not to buy everything in there!!!
    Cheers!
    Kim

  4. Gio

    Being Swiss and have been living in Seoul for 2 years I can’t help to point out that Mr. Botta is actually Swiss and not Italian. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mario_Botta
    His mothertongue is indeed Italian since Mendrisio (where he was born and raised) is in the Italian speaking region of Switzerland.
    As a side note, I was fond of that building from the very first time I saw it (I was going there regurarly since…I love bookstores too ^ ^) but I never noticed the mosaic installation. Too bad! *^^*
    Gio

  5. Hi Pam,
    They are pretty amazing… I sometimes wonder if doing so many of fairly similar columns drove the artist a little crazy after a while!!! lol. But as for the WOW factor, making it en masse is very effective.
    Thanks for looking!
    Kim

  6. Kim, these are beautiful! I love the way they’re put together, and the detail shot shows how lovely they are. Very, very effective.

Leave a Reply

